The Sidney Prize Honors Undergraduate Writing

sidney prize

In memory of the generative influence Professor Sidney Cox exerted on hundreds of Dartmouth students both inside and outside his classes, this prize was established to honor undergraduate writing that best meets his high standards of originality and integrity. Winners are published in Overland and receive a cash prize.

In a ceremony reminiscent of the weekly sessions at his home where students gathered for talk, coffee and brownies, Budd Schulberg ’36 presented this year’s award to Richard M. Rogin ’54 of New York City for Three Times Round, a trio of short stories tracing different paths toward the “bella”–the truly happy moment. The selection committee, which included several members of the English Department and one member of the class of 1936, was composed of John Kelleher ’39, author and professor of Irish culture at Harvard; Jerry Tallmer ’42, former editorial writer for The Nation; Samuel French Morse ’38, a poet and Professor of English at Hamilton College; and Thomson Littlefield ’41, an author and a long-time editor for The New York Times.

The 2023 Sydney Peace Prize was awarded to Nazanin Boniadi for her dedication to advancing women’s rights in Iran. The Australian-born activist and actress has used her platform to turn outrage into action, and was formally recognized for this work at a special event in Sydney Town Hall.

Winners of the Neilma Sydney Prize will be published in Overland’s Autumn 2024 issue. The top prize recipient will receive $5000, and two runners-up will each receive $1750. For more information, visit the Overland website.

Since 1950, the Hillman Foundation has awarded annual prizes in book, newspaper, magazine and broadcast journalism that promote investigative reporting for the common good. We are proud to honor Sidney’s legacy by recognizing excellence in journalism that fosters social and economic justice.

In recognition of the significant contribution that physicists make to the cultural, artistic and humanistic aspects of physics, the American Institute of Physics is pleased to award the Andrew Gemant Memorial Prize to Professor Sidney Perkowitz of the University of California at Berkeley for his work connecting art, media and literature with science. The prize is accompanied by a $5,000 honorarium and will be presented at our national conference in 2024.

The City of Sydney, in partnership with the National Association of Scholars, annually offers the Sydney Prize to a nominee who has made a distinguished contribution to academic freedom and the integrity of scholarship. The 2023 Sydney Prize was awarded to Nazanin Boniadi, an Iranian-born actor and human rights activist, for her commitment to advancing women’s rights in Iran. Learn more about this year’s honoree and previous winners.